Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, elit eget consectetuer adipiscing aenean dolor

Image Alt

Vinny Champions League Pool

Vinny Champions League Pool

The Vinny.co.uk Champions League Pool features 32 of the world’s top 8-Ball Pool players competing over 11 weeks of live action on FreeSports TV for a top prize of £10,000. 

Tournament Format and

Split into three phases, this unique, fast-paced event begins with eight round-robin groups of four – a group taking to the stage each week. The cueists that finish top of these groups qualify for the last eight. 

The second phase of the competition sees the eight remaining contestants divided into two round-robin groups of four. The top two placed players from these groups advance to Finals Night. 

All matches throughout phases one and two are races to four frames but with a 20-minute match-clock. Should a player not reach the target when the time expires, the result at the end of the 20 minutes stands with two points awarded for a win and one point each for a draw. Players are under pressure and have to think quick, though, as they are also on a separate 20-second shot-clock and are only allowed one extension per match. 

Finals Night is made up of two knockout semi-finals and then the final with all matches the best of two sets (first to four frames or whoever is winning at 20 minutes – same 20-second shot-clock applies). 

Golden Break, Golden Duck and 6-Reds Shootout concepts are applied throughout the event. 

The 2020/21 Vinny Champions League Pool was the Ultimate Pool Group’s first televised competition. Chris Melling defeated fellow all-time great Michael Hill in the final to claim the inaugural title.  

You can find and read reports on all Vinny Champions League Pool event nights here.

Results can be found below.

2021 Vinny Champions League Pool Results

Phase One

Group A – Monday 7th December 2020
Martin McIntosh 2-3 Rob Wharne
Jimmy Croxton 1-4 Josh Kane
Jimmy Croxton 4-1 Martin McIntosh
Josh Kane 3-1 Rob Wharne
Rob Wharne 4-1 Jimmy Croxton
Martin McIntosh 1-4 Josh Kane
Group Winner: Josh Kane


Group B – Monday 14th December 2020
Andy Cragg 3-3 Oly Bale
Aaron Davies 4-2 John Sullivan
John Sullivan 4-1 Oly Bale
Aaron Davies 4-1 Andy Cragg
John Sullivan 4-2 Andy Cragg
Oly Bale 3-4 Aaron Davies
Group Winner: Aaron Davies


Group C – Monday 4th January 2021
Sam Bircher 2-2 Rob Chilton
Phil Harrison 2-2 Zak Shepherd
Rob Chilton 4-1 Zak Shepherd
Phil Harrison 4-1 Sam Bircher
Zak Shepherd 2-3 Sam Bircher
Phil Harrison 4-1 Rob Chilton
Group Winner: Phil Harrison


Group D – Monday 11th January 2021
Neil Raybone 3-2 John Roe
Brian Halcrow 4-2 Jordan Shepherd
Jordan Shepherd 0-4 John Roe
Brian Halcrow 1-4 Neil Raybone
Brian Halcrow 1-4 John Roe
Jordan Shepherd 0-4 Neil Raybone
Group Winner: Neil Raybone


Group E – Monday 18th January 2021
Shaun Storry 2-2 Chris Day
Tom Price 3-2 Eddie Barker
Shaun Storry 4-1 Eddie Barker
Tom Price 1-4 Chris Day
Eddie Barker 2-2 Chris Day
Shaun Storry 4-1 Tom Price
Group Winner: Shaun Storry


Group F – Monday 25th January 2021
Tony Blount 1-4 Craig Lakin
Karl Sutton 1-4 David McNamara
Tony Blount 1-2 Karl Sutton
Craig Lakin 3-4 David McNamara
Craig Lakin 1-4 Karl Sutton
Tony Blount 0-4 David McNamara
Group Winner: David McNamara


Group G – Monday 1st February 2021
Geo Edgar 0-4 Mike King
Hiten Patel 2-4 Chris Melling
Hiten Patel 3-3 Geo Edgar
Chris Melling 3-3 Mike King
Hiten Patel 4-1 Mike King
Chris Melling 4-0 Geo Edgar
Group Winner: Chris Melling


Group H – Monday 15th February 2021
Dylan Leary 2-4 Declan Brennan
Michael Hill 2-1 Shane Thompson
Dylan Leary 2-4 Shane Thompson
Declan Brennan 2-3 Michael Hill
Declan Brennan 4-2 Shane Thompson
Michael Hill 3-3 Dylan Leary
Group Winner: Michael Hill


Phase Two

Last 8, Group One – Monday 22nd February 2021
(Josh Kane withdrew due to positive Covid-19 test and was replaced by Group A runner-up Rob Wharne)
Rob Wharne 1-4 Aaron Davies
Phil Harrison 2-3 Neil Raybone
Rob Wharne 2-3 Phil Harrison
Aaron Davies 2-2 Neil Raybone
Rob Wharne 1-4 Neil Raybone
Aaron Davies 4-1 Phil Harrison

6-Reds Shootout to determine winner and runner-up places:
Neil Raybone (43.89) v Aaron Davies (32.00)

Group Winner: Aaron Davies, Group Runner-Up: Neil Raybone


Last 8, Group Two – Monday 1st March 2021
Shaun Storry 4-3 David McNamara
Chris Melling 2-4 Michael Hill
David McNamara 0-4 Chris Melling
Shaun Storry 1-2 Michael Hill
David McNamara 1-4 Michael Hill
Shaun Storry 2-4 Chris Melling
Group Winner: Michael Hill, Group Runner-Up: Chris Melling


Finals Night

Monday 8th March 2021
Michael Hill 2-0 Neil Raybone (4-1, 4-0)
Aaron Davies 1-1 Chris Melling (2-4, 3-2)
6-Reds Shootout: Davies (31.95) v Melling (25.65)

Michael Hill 0-2 Chris Melling (2-4, 3-4)

Champion: Chris Melling